Forcalquier

"Forcalquier has a rich history as a county town. The streets of the historic center invite you to linger."

From alleys to squares, from Gothic fountains to beautiful residences, from cathedrals to chapels, the heritage can be discovered in an atmosphere of a Provencal village .
A 360 ° panorama awaits you at the top of the Citadel. The view wanders from the roofs of the city to the first peaks of the Alps in the Durance valley, towards the nearby Montagne de Lure and the Luberon .
Besides the view, this place will amaze your ears! Indeed, next to the chapel you will discover one of the rare Carillon in Provence which is played "with a fist". On Sunday morning and on bank holidays you can hear its musicality with traditional tunes.

Market :
- If you like markets , you will not be disappointed on Monday morning in Forcalquier ! It is said to be the largest market in the region. It stretches across all the streets of the city in an incredible atmosphere .
- Thursday afternoon from 3 to 7 pm the Place du Bourguet hosts the "Marché Paysan" , co-managed by the association "Se turn au Sol" and the town hall.
Fifteen local farmers and artisans come together to offer quality products all year round and exclusively from their production:bread, cheeses (sheep, goat), vegetables, fruits, meat (pork and poultry) eggs, saffron, honey, pizza cooked over a wood fire ... all in a friendly and warm atmosphere.

forcalquier-4215437 olives marche Carillon La Citadelle de Forcalquier

Forcalquier

"Forcalquier est riche d'un passé de cité comtale. Les rues du centre historique invitent à la flânerie." 

De ruelles en places, de fontaine gothique en belles demeures, de cathédrale en chapelle, le patrimoinese laisse découvrir dans une ambiance de village provençal.
Un panorama à 360° vous attend en haut de la colline de la Citadelle. La vue se promène des toits de la ville jusqu'aux premiers sommets des Alpes à la vallée de la Durance et vers la montagne de Lure et le Luberon tout proches.
Outre la vue, ce lieu va étonner vos oreilles ! En effet, à coté de la chapelle vous découvrirez l'un des rares carillons manuels de Provence qui se joue « à coup de poing ». Le dimanche matin et les jours de fête vous pouvez entendre sa musicalité sur des airs traditionnels.
Marché : 
- Si vous aimez les marchés, vous ne serez pas déçus le lundi matin à Forcalquier! Il se dit que c'est le plus grand marché de la région. Il s'étale dans toutes les rues de la ville dans une ambiance incroyable.
- Le jeudi après-midi de 15 à 19h la place du Bourguet accueille le "marché paysan", cogéré par l'association "Se tourne au Sol" et la mairie. 
Une quinzaine d'agriculteurs et artisans locaux se réunissent pour proposer toute l'année des produits de qualité et exclusivement issus de leur production : pain, fromages (brebis, chèvre), légumes, fruits, viande (porc et volaille) œufs, safran, miel, pizza cuites au feu de bois.... le tout dans une ambiance conviviale et chaleureuse.

forcalquier-4215437 olives marche Carillon La Citadelle de Forcalquier